K. Sivan took charge here on Monday as the new Secretary, Department of Space, Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation and the Space Commission. Dr. Sivan, who immediately returned to Thiruvananthapuram, his previous centre, said he took charge from A.S. Kiran Kumar at a low-key event.

“I plan to work from Thiruvananthapuram for a few more days to clear important files, and will move to the headquarters on January 22,” he said.

A Ph.D in aeronautical engineering, Dr. Sivan is the ninth head of the space establishment.