Indian Air Force's day-night exercise demonstrating its combat and fire power was conducted at the Pokhran firing range

India is all set to welcome its first intercontinental ballistic missile Agni-V into the Strategic Forces Command (SFC). Previously, the country witnessed five Pokhran-II underground nuclear tests under 'Operation Shakti' about 20 years ago.

India's first intercontinental ballistic missile Agni-V

Agni-V is a 50-tonne device, with 1.5-tonne nuclear warhead.

Unlike other Agni missiles, Agni V ensures swift transportation and firing.

It underwent four developmental trials, with open configuration tests in April 2012 and September 2013, as reported by the Times of India.

The Strategic Forces Command (SFC) Missiles:

Apart from Agni-V, the SFC has a couple of other missiles, including:

  • Prithvi-II (350-km)
  • Agni-I (700-km)
  • Agni-II (2,000-km)
  • and Agni-III (3,000-km) missile units

What is Pokran II?

Pokran-II, a series of five nuclear bomb test explosions, was tested at the Indian Army's Pokhran Test Range in May 1998.

Operation Shakti (Pokhran-II) was initiated under Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee's rule.

As the name suggests, it was the second Indian nuclear test after code-named Smiling Buddha, which was conducted in May 1974.

It consisted of five detonations, of which the first was a fusion bomb and the remaining four were fission bombs. Pokhran-II nuclear detonations included a 15 kiloton fission device, a 45 kiloton thermonuclear device (hydrogen bomb) and three sub-kiloton devices.

The Legacy of May 11:

The Indian government has officially declared May 11 as National Technology Day.

It has become a legacy to launch a nuclear missile on this day.

The first of the five nuclear tests were carried out on May 11, 1998.