The new govt will also appoint the IAF chief as incumbent Air Chief Marshal B.S. Dhanoa retires in September

New Delhi: In one of its first decisions, the new Indian government will have to make key appointments to senior security, defence and bureaucratic positions, with the current incumbents set to vacate their posts over the next few weeks.

The new government, to be sworn in after the 23 May Lok Sabha elections verdict, will look to name the chiefs of Research and Analysis Wing (RAW), the Intelligence Bureau, and the new cabinet and defence secretaries.

All four are soon going to end their term, with either their extensions coming to an end or retirement coming up.

The government will also appoint the new Indian Air Force (IAF) chief. All eyes will be on this move if the Modi government gets a second term. It had earlier named the Army and Navy chiefs, giving precedence to deep selection over seniority. Air Chief Marshal B.S. Dhanoa, the current IAF chief, is set to retire on 30 September.

Intelligence Chiefs

The current RAW secretary Anil Kumar Dhasmana, and IB director Rajiv Jain were given six-month extensions in December.

Dhasmana’s tenure was scheduled to end on 29 December and Jain’s on 30 December.

Sources had then told ThePrint that the decision was taken to ensure continuity in the two crucial intelligence agencies before the Lok Sabha elections. The decision was taken by the Prime Minister-led Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC).

The Modi government didn’t want to disturb the continuity in the IB and the RAW and wanted the new government to take a decision on appointments to these key posts after the polls, the sources had added.

Both Jain and Dhasmana could get post-retirement jobs, sources have told ThePrint.

Bureaucratic Posts

With current cabinet secretary P.K. Sinha set to retire on 12 June after a two-year extension given by the Modi government, the new regime will also have to name a new candidate for the key bureaucratic position.

It will also appoint a new defence secretary as the incumbent, Sanjay Mitra, is set to retire on 31 May.