India's armed forces and their roles

Personnel of Defence and Paramilitary forces (PMF) play a crucial role in ensuring the security and peace of our country. Here's a list of India's various defence forces and their roles.

1. Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP)

Indo-Tibetan Border Police was established on October 24, 1962, for reorganising the frontier intelligence and security set up along the Indo-Tibetan border. Only four Battalions were sanctioned, to begin with.

ITBP was initially raised under the CRPF Act. However, in 1992, parliament enacted the ITBPF Act and the rules there under were framed in 1994.

2. National Security Guards (NSG)

NSG is a highly trained force which deals with the militants effectively.

It was established in 1984 to counter the surge of militancy in the country.

3. Central Industrial Security Force (CISF)

CISF was set up in 1969 after the recommendations of Justice B Mukherji.

Its objective is to monitor the industrial complexes of the central government.

4. Assam Rifles

Assam Rifles was established in 1835 and is the oldest paramilitary force in the country.

Its main objective is to keep vigilance of international borders in Northeast and counter-insurgency operations in Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, and Nagaland.

5. Border Security Force (BSF)

BSF was established in 1965. It keeps a vigil over the international borders against the intrusion in the country.

6. National Cadet Corps (NCC)

NCC was established in 1948. Its main objective is to stimulate interest among the youth in the defence of the country in order to build up reserve manpower to expand armed forces.

7. Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)

CRPF was set up in 1939. Its main objective is to assist the state/union territory police in maintenance of law and order.

The 88th battalion of CRPF, known as 'Mahila Battalion' (commissioned on March 30, 1986) is the world's first paramilitary force comprising entirely of women.

8. Territorial Army (TA)

TA was established in 1948. It is a voluntary part-time force, not of professional soldiers, but civilians who wish to assist in defence of the country.

9. Home Guard

Home Guard was established in 1962, to assist the police in maintaining security, to help defence forces, and to help local authorities in case of any eventuality.

10. Indian Coast Guard

Indian Coast Guard was set up in 1978. Its objective is to protect the maritime and other national interests in the maritime zones of India.

11. Intelligence Bureau (IB)

IB was set up in 1920. Its objective is to collect secret information relating to the country's security. It was originally set up as Central Special Branch (CSB) in 1887 and renamed IB in 1920.

12. Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI)

CBI was established in 1963. Its objective is to investigate cases of misconduct by public servants, cases of cheating, embezzlement and fraud. CBI is also entrusted with the investigation of international crime cases in collaboration with INTERPOL.

13. National Crime Records Bureau (NCRB)

NCRB was established in 1986. Its objective is to collect crime statistics at the national level, information of inter-state and international criminals to help investigation agencies.

14. Rapid Action Force (RAF)

RAF, a specialised force, was established in 1992 with 10 unattached battalions and increased with five more units in 2018. These units were set up to deal with riots and riot like situations, to instil confidence amongst all sections of the society and to handle internal security duty.

RAF is a zero response force which gets to the crisis situation within a minimal time, thus enthuses an immediate sense of security and confidence amongst the general public.